First Lines Friday

First Line Friday is a weekly feature that I now love to take part in.

It is hosted by Wandering Words.

What if, instead of judging a book by its cover or by its author, we judged the book by its opening lines?

Here is how it works:

– Pick a book off your shelf and open to the first page.

– Copy the first few lines without giving the book away.

– Reveal the book

Here we go!


There are two things you know.

One: You were there. Two: You couldn’t have been there.

Holding these two incompatible truths together takes skill at juggling. Of course juggling requires a third ball to keep the rhythm smooth. That third ball is time – which bounces much more wildly than any of us would like to believe. The time is 5 a.m. You know this, because there’s a batterypowered clock on your bedroom wall that ticks so loudly you sometimes have to smother it with a pillow. And yet, while it’s five in the morning here, it’s also five in the evening somewhere in China – proving that incompatible truths make perfect sense when seen with global perspective. You’ve learned, however, that sending your thoughts to China is not always a good thing.


Scroll down to reveal the book!

Challenger Deep by Neal Shusterman

I’ve just started this. So far, so good.

Published by lisasbooksgemsandtarot

My name is Lisa and the pooch in my profile picture is my baby, Skye. I love everything bookish! I also find things like tarot and angel cards, along with runes and gemstones really interesting and I like to incorporate these into my photos.

9 thoughts on “First Lines Friday

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started