ARC Review: Cursed – Various Authors

I received this book from Titan Books in exchange for an honest review. Thank you!

*Publication Date: 3rd March 2020*

The blurb from the back of the book:

Twenty curses, old and new, from bestselling fantasy authors such as Neil Gaiman, Christina Henry, M.R. Carey and Charlie Jane Anders.

ALL THE BETTER TO READ YOU WITH

It’s a prick of blood, the bite of an apple, the evil eye, a wedding ring or a pair of red shoes. Curses come in all shapes and sizes, and they can happen to anyone, not just those of us with unpopular stepparents…

Here you’ll find unique twists on curses, from fairy tale classics to brand-new hexes of the modern world – expect new monsters and mythologies as well as twists on well-loved fables. Stories to shock and stories of warning, stories of monsters and stories of magic.

TWENTY TIMELESS FOLKTALES, NEW AND OLD


The authors:

NEIL GAIMAN

JANE YOLEN

KAREN JOY FOWLER

M.R. CAREY

CHRISTINA HENRY

CHRISTOPHER GOLDEN

TIM LEBBON

MICHAEL MARSHALL SMITH

CHARLIE JANE ANDERS   

JEN WILLIAMS

CATRIONA WARD   

JAMES BROGDEN

MAURA McHUGH   

ANGELA SLATTER

LILLITH SAINTCROW

CHRISTOPHER FOWLER

ALISON LITTLEWOOD

MARGO LANAGAN


I enjoyed reading this book so much! It was so interesting to read. There were some stories that I was familiar with, such as Snow White, but with a twist.

There were other stories that were not so familiar, but amazing. All of the writing was spot on, and each story kept me engaged.

My favourite:

I had to pick a favourite story from the all and that was Listen by Jen Williams.

This story was about a girl called Erren who was cursed. She was forced to play music to bring back the dead of those who listened. The truth of their deaths to finally come out.

I would definitely recommend this book. It was such a quick read with you able to read a tale here and there.

I gave it ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Published by lisasbooksgemsandtarot

My name is Lisa and the pooch in my profile picture is my baby, Skye. I love everything bookish! I also find things like tarot and angel cards, along with runes and gemstones really interesting and I like to incorporate these into my photos.

One thought on “ARC Review: Cursed – Various Authors

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started