A big thank you to Walker Books, NetGalley and the author for this review copy!

*Publication Date: 3rd September 2020*

The blurb from the back of the book:

What if death is only the beginning?

When Harriet Stoker dies after falling from a balcony in a long-abandoned building, she discovers a world of ghosts with magical powers – shape-shifting, hypnosis, even the ability to possess the living. Felix, Kasper, Rima and Leah welcome her into their world, eager to make friends with the new arrival. Yet Harriet is more interested in unleashing her own power, even if it means destroying everyone around her. But when all of eternity is at stake, the afterlife can be a dangerous place to make an enemy.

Just like Lauren James’ other books, I loved this one! She is such a brilliant YA writer and I cannot fault her work.

I loved the story.

Harriet dies in an abandoned building inhabited by the ghosts of students who all mysteriously died in the night. Upon her death and the release of her spirit, an energy awakens the ghosts from hibernation.

They all have some type of magical power and the spirit of a person/animal is a source of energy.

Harriet is intent on finding out her power and getting out of the building no matter the cost.

There are so many twists and turns and mystery. It took me more than half the book to figure out the narrator, and it made perfect sense!

This is a brilliant world the author has written and I devoured it. I can’t wait for more of James’ work!

I gave it ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️